Currently Visiting:  Home »» PROGRAMS »» PARTNERSHIPS

PARTNERSHIPS

Provincial Caring Partnerships
Provincial Caring Partnerships

PCPC | Silent Witness | ToolKit

PCPC

Provincial Caring Partnerships http://www.violencepreventionnb.org

Resource Materials on Family Violence Awareness and Prevention

Provincial Conference on Family Violence Prevention

Networking, Support and Sharing

Contact Information

Caring Partnerships is a network of New Brunswick communities that are taking grassroots action to inform and educate the public about family violence issues and solutions. Each community has created partnerships among local groups, businesses, service clubs, social agencies and individuals who are concerned about family violence and its insidious and widespread effects throughout society. The Provincial Caring Partnership Committee (PCPC), which is comprised of dedicated, volunteer representatives from provincial agencies and government departments, acts as a catalyst to keep communities motivated and connected. PCPC offers the following services and resources:

Resource Materials on Family Violence Awareness and Prevention:
PCPC has produced a Caring Community Start-up Kit with a Community Development Handbook and a Media Guide. The Kit helps communities develop action plans and local responses to create awareness of family violence issues and work towards prevention. PCPC also has a newsletter and a motivational video called Reaching In, Reaching Out.

> Back to Top

Provincial Conference on Family Violence Prevention:
Every two years, as resources permit, PCPC offers a free provincial conference on family violence with dynamic guest speakers on a range of topics, profiles of better practices from participating communities, networking opportunities and sharing of resources.

> Back to Top

Networking, Support and Sharing:
Our goal is to support communities in their efforts to eradicate family violence and to help everyone stay connected. PCPC and caring communities representatives are often available to travel around the province to make presentations, help communities start their own caring community, and encourage existing family violence-related groups to join the caring community network. By keeping communities linked and sharing emerging best practices, we can all learn from one another.

Website – www.violencepreventionnb.org :
PCPC offers a website with information on the caring communities and easy access to all our resources. (Currently looking for volunteers to update and enhance the site!)

> Back to Top

Contact Information:
Provincial Caring Partnerships Committee
c/o Muriel McQueen Fergusson Foundation
P.O. Box 50 000
Fredericton, NB E3B 6C2
Tel: 506-472-5085
Fax: 506-472-5084
Email: pcpc@unb.ca
Website: www.violencepreventionnb.org

^ Back to Top

Silent Witness
Silent Witness

Silent Witness

The Silent Witness Project
www.silentwitness.ca

Silent Witness Travelling Exhibit

Presentations & Speakers

Silent Witness Materials

Assistance in Creating a Silhouette

Silhouette Dedication Ceremonies

Canadian National Silent Witness Guide

Contact the NB Silent Witness Organizing Committee

Silent Witness National Initiative
The Silent Witness Project remembers and honours women killed in acts of domestic homicide in New Brunswick by building life-size red wooden silhouettes to represent each woman who lost her life at the hands of a husband, common-law partner, boyfriend or intimate acquaintance. Started in the USA, New Brunswick is the first Canadian province to establish a Silent Witness project. The Organizing Committee is made up of representatives of four organizations and together they offer the following bilingual services:

Silent Witness Travelling Exhibit
The silhouettes can travel to family violence related events, workshops, and conferences around New Brunswick and elsewhere. If you wish to borrow the silhouettes, you are responsible for their travel costs. Booking criteria and application forms are available – place your request early as the silhouettes are in high demand.

Presentations and Speakers
The Organizing Committee would be pleased to attend your event and deliver a free presentation about the project (although we may require assistance with our travel costs). We may also be able to help you find speakers on family violence topics.

Bilingual Silent Witness car magnets $5 each now available
Bilingual Silent Witness car magnets $5 each now available

Silent Witness Materials
We can send you brochures or information kits full of fact sheets, bookmarks, domestic homicide statistics, and information.

Assistance in Creating a Silhouette
Whether you wish to build a silhouette for a woman in your community killed by her partner, or simply donate a silhouette to the project, we would be pleased to work with you.

Silhouette Dedication Ceremonies
When appropriate, we can work with families and local communities, who have created a silhouette, to help with a dedication ceremony to welcome the silhouette into the exhibit.

CD (“I’ll Stand in the Rain”) and Promotional Items
You can purchase the English and French Silent Witness Song on a CD for $10. Other Silent Witness promotional items may be available as well.
Contact SW Organizing Committee for further information.

Canadian National Silent Witness Guide
We have produced a free guide for groups across Canada interested in starting a Silent Witness project in their own province or territory. It explains how to get going, offers tips on developing partnerships, and shares a wealth of information.

Contact the NB Silent Witness Organizing Committee:
Charlotte County Family Violence Committee; Muriel McQueen Fergusson Centre for Family Violence Research; Muriel McQueen Fergusson Foundation; and Provincial Caring Partnerships Committee.

For more information on the Silent Witness project, contact: info@silentwitness.ca

^ Back to Top

Family Violence: It's Your Business (A Workplace Toolkit)
Family Violence: It's Your Business (A Workplace Toolkit)

Workplace Toolkit

It's Your Business
www.toolkitnb.ca

Objectives

It’s Your Business
Family Violence: It’s Your Business (A Workplace Toolkit) is intended to provide employers, unions and employees with information and resources for recognizing and responding to family violence situations that enter the workplace. The purpose of this Toolkit is to help New Brunswick businesses take action to address family violence and its impact on the workplace. This Toolkit is appropriate for unionized and non-unionized workplaces, business owners, managers, and employees. It can be used in large and small business, rural or urban work places, and across all sectors.

Objectives

Specifically, the objectives of the Toolkit are:

  • To educate and raise awareness of the need for early intervention in situations where family violence may have an impact on the workplace;
  • To develop practical, flexible training tools that will help employers deal with the impact of family violence on the workplace;
  • To strengthen the relationship between business and community;
  • To promote practices, policies, and procedures that support victims of family violence in the workplace;
  • To help create safer and healthier work environments;
  • To support businesses large and small in meeting their social responsibility to prevent family violence from spilling over into the workplace.

The Toolkit was created in a modular fashion. Depending on your workplace, you can use the Toolkit in various ways by incorporating appropriate elements into your own business or work environment as required. Some workplaces, such as those that have Employee Assistance Programs, may simply adapt existing policies or practices to include family violence sensitive provisions. Some may wish to focus on public education and staff training. Still others may choose to use all of the materials. No matter how you use this Toolkit, we hope that it will contribute to a healthier, safer and more productive workplace.

You can use the Toolkit to help:

(1) Develop or adapt supportive policies, practices and programs that deal with family violence when it enters the workplace. The Toolkit offers model family violence policies, and suggests programs and protocols for employee safety that can be used to support employees when family violence spills into the workplace.

(2) Deliver public education about family violence and create a positive workplace. The Toolkit includes Fact Sheets with background information and key messages about family violence that you can share with your employees.

(3) Become a good corporate citizen. One way to show that you care about employees experiencing abuse is for your business to support agencies in your community that provide social services to victims. The Toolkit offers many examples of the unique and innovative ways some employers have contributed in their communities. The Toolkit provides many practical and concrete suggestions for the development of short and long-term actions and responses to family violence when it enters the workplace. You can use the information (fact sheets, posters and messages) in the toolkit; or, you can make use of the information directly from our Internet site at www.toolkitnb.ca

For further information:
The New Brunswick Family Violence and the Workplace Committee
c/o Public Legal Education and Information Service of New Brunswick
P.O. Box 6000
Fredericton, New Brunswick
E3B 5H1
Tel: 1-888-236-2444
Fax: (506) 462-5193
Email: info@toolkitnb.ca
http://www.toolkitnb.ca

^ Back to Top

Vous Visitez:  Accueil »» Programmes »» Partenariats

Partenariats

PCPC | Une témoin silencieuse | Trousse pour le milieu de travail

Comité provincial On vous tient à cœur
Comité provincial On vous tient à cœur

PCPC

Comité provincial On vous tient à cœur
On vous tient à cœur est un réseau de collectivités du Nouveau-Brunswick qui s’activent à informer et à sensibiliser le public sur les questions de violence familiale et leurs solutions. Chaque collectivité a établi des partenariats avec les organismes locaux, les entreprises, les groupes de bienfaisance, les organismes de services sociaux et les particuliers qui sont préoccupés par la violence familiale et ses effets insidieux dans toutes les couches de la société. Le comité provincial « On vous tient à cœur » (PCPC), formé de bénévoles dévoués représentant divers agences gouvernementales et ministères de la province, agit en tant que catalyseur afin de maintenir ces collectivités motivées et en contact. Le PCPC offre les ressources et services suivants :

^ Haut de la Page

Ressources sur la sensibilisation à la violence familiale et sur sa prévention
PCPC a produit une Trousse de démarrage pour les collectivités qui ont à cœur leur population qui contient un Manuel d’établissement de partenariats avec la collectivité et un Guide-médias. Cette trousse aide ces collectivités à élaborer des plans d’action et des initiatives locales visant la sensibilisation de la violence familiale et sa prévention. PCPC offre également un bulletin mensuel ainsi qu’une vidéo motivationnelle intitulée Se dévouer pour aider.

^ Haut de la Page

Conférence provinciale sur la prévention de la violence familiale
En fonction des ressources à sa disposition, PCPC organise aux deux ans une conférence provinciale gratuite sur la prévention de la violence familiale. Cet événement présente des conférenciers qui traitent de différents sujets, les meilleures pratiques appliquées par les communautés, des occasions de réseautage et d’échange de ressources.

^ Haut de la Page

Réseautage, soutien et partage
Notre but est de soutenir les collectivités dans leurs efforts visant à enrayer la violence familiale, tout en assurant une communication soutenue entre toutes les parties intéressées. Des représentants de PCPC et des collectivités sont régulièrement disponibles pour se déplacer aux quatre coins de la province afin de livrer des présentations, aider les communautés à se mobiliser et encourager les groupes actifs dans le domaine de la violence familiale à se joindre au réseau des collectivités qui ont à cœur leur population. En maintenant le contact entre les communautés et en faisant connaître les meilleures pratiques émergentes, nous pourrons tous apprendre les uns des autres.

^ Haut de la Page

Renseignements :
Comité provincial On vous tient à cœur
a/s de Muriel McQueen Fergusson Foundation
C.P.50 000
Fredericton (N.-B.) E3B 6C2
Tél. : 506-472-5085
Téléc. : 506-472-5084
Courriel : pcpc@unb.ca
Site Web : www.violencepreventionnb.org

^ Haut de la Page

Silent Witness
Silent Witness
Une témoin silencieuse

Initiative nationale
Le projet Une Témoin silencieuse commémore et rend hommage aux néo-brunswickoises assassinées à la suite de violence conjugale. Il s’agit d’une exposition de silhouettes grandeur nature en bois rouge de ces femmes qui ont perdu la vie aux mains d’un mari, conjoint de fait, petit ami ou partenaire intime. Le Nouveau-Brunswick est la première province canadienne à embrasser ce projet d’origine américaine. Le comité organisateur est composé de membres de quatre organisations et offre les services bilingues suivants :

^ Haut de la Page

Exposition itinérante
Les silhouettes peuvent être exposées lors de conférences, ateliers et autres événements portant sur la violence familiale partout dans la province et ailleurs. Si vous désirez emprunter les silhouettes, vous devez assumer leurs coûts de déplacement. Vous pouvez obtenir les formulaires de demande et critères d’admissibilité. Les silhouettes sont très populaires, donc réservez le plus tôt possible!

^ Haut de la Page

Conférenciers et présentations
Le comité organisateur serait honoré d’assister à votre évènement et de donner une présentation gratuite sur le projet (bien que nous puissions vous demander votre aide pour défrayer le déplacement). Nous pouvons aussi vous aider à trouver des conférenciers spécialisés sur la violence familiale.

Aimants pour voiture bilingues 5 $ ch.
Aimants pour voiture bilingues 5 $ ch.

^ Haut de la Page

Matériel
Nous pouvons vous envoyer des brochures ou des trousses d’information contenant des signets, des statistiques et des fiches de renseignements.

^ Haut de la Page

Créer une silhouette
Si vous désirez construire une silhouette pour honorer une femme de votre collectivité, ou tout simplement faire don d’une silhouette, il nous fera grand plaisir de travailler avec vous.

^ Haut de la Page

Cérémonie de dédicace
Lorsque cela est possible, nous travaillons avec la famille et la collectivité pour organiser une cérémonie accueillant la silhouette à l’exposition.

^ Haut de la Page

CD (I’ll Stand in the Rain) et autre matériel promotionne
Vous pouvez vous procurer une copie de ce CD en français ou en anglais pour la somme de 10 $. D’autres articles promotionnels peuvent aussi être disponibles. Informez-vous auprès du Comité organisateur.

^ Haut de la Page

Guide canadien
Nous avons produit gratuitement un guide pour les groupes intéressés à lancer leur propre projet Une témoin silencieuse dans leur province ou territoire. Véritable mine d’informations, il explique comment démarrer un tel projet et offre entre autres des trucs pour forger des partenariats.

Communiquez avec le comité organisateur du projet Une Témoin silencieuse du Nouveau-Brunswick

Le Comité de lutte contre la violence familiale du comté de Charlotte, le Centre Muriel McQueen Fergusson pour la recherche sur la violence familiale, la Fondation Muriel McQueen Fergusson et le Comité provincial On vous tient à cœur.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le projet, communiquez avec : info@temoinsilencieuse.ca

^ Haut de la Page

Trousse pour le milieu de travail: Ça vous concerne

Trousse pour le milieu de travail
Trousse pour le milieu de travail

Ça vous concerne
La violence familiale : ça vous concerne (une trousse pour le milieu de travail) a pour objectif de fournir aux employeurs, aux syndicats et aux employés des renseignements et des ressources qui leur permettront de reconnaître les situations de violence familiale dans le milieu de travail et d'y réagir. La présente trousse a pour objet d’aider les entreprises du Nouveau-Brunswick à prendre des mesures pour contrer la violence familiale et ses répercussions sur le milieu de travail. Elle convient aux milieux de travail syndiqués et non syndiqués, de même qu’aux propriétaires, gestionnaires et employés d’entreprise. Elle peut être utilisée dans les grandes et petites entreprises, dans les milieux de travail ruraux et urbains et dans tous les secteurs d’activités.

^ Haut de la Page

Objectifs
La trousse vise plus particulièrement :
• à renseigner et à sensibiliser les employeurs et les employés à la nécessité d’intervenir immédiatement dans les situations où la violence familiale risque d’avoir des répercussions sur le milieu de travail;
• à élaborer des outils de formation pratiques et adaptables qui aideront les employeurs à faire face aux répercussions de la violence familiale sur le milieu de travail;
• à renforcer les liens entre les entreprises et la communauté;
• à promouvoir des pratiques, des politiques et des façons de procéder favorables aux victimes de violence familiale dans le milieu de travail;
• à favoriser des milieux de travail plus sécuritaires et plus sains;
• à aider les grandes et les petites entreprises à assumer leur responsabilité sociale pour empêcher que la violence familiale s’infiltre dans le milieu de travail.

La trousse a été conçue selon une approche modulaire. Vous pourrez l’utiliser de différentes façons, en incorporant les éléments pertinents à votre entreprise ou milieu de travail selon le besoin. Les milieux de travail qui offrent des programmes d’aide aux employés pourront simplement modifier leurs politiques et pratiques de manière à inclure des dispositions sensibles à la violence familiale. Certaines entreprises pourraient choisir de se concentrer sur la sensibilisation du public et la formation du personnel. D’autres pourraient décider d’utiliser l’ensemble des documents. Peu importe l’usage que vous en fassiez, nous espérons que cette trousse contribuera à créer un milieu de travail plus sain, plus sécuritaire et plus productif.

La trousse peut servir aux besoins ci-dessous :

(1) Élaborer des politiques, des pratiques et des programmes pour réagir à la violence familiale qui s’infiltre au travail, ou adapter ceux qui sont en place.
La trousse offre un modèle de politique en matière de violence familiale, et elle propose des programmes et des protocoles pour la sécurité des employés. Vous pouvez les utiliser pour aider les employés lorsque la violence familiale s’insinue dans le milieu de travail.
(2) Sensibiliser le public à la violence familiale et créer un milieu de travail positif.
La trousse contient des fiches d’information que vous pouvez distribuer à vos employés. Ces fiches renferment des renseignements généraux et des messages clés au sujet de la violence familiale.
(3) Manifester une présence sociale
Soutenir les organismes communautaires qui offrent des services sociaux aux victimes est une bonne façon pour toute entreprise de montrer qu’elle se préoccupe des employés victimes de mauvais traitements. La trousse donne de nombreux exemples d’approches uniques et innovatrices que des employeurs ont adoptées dans leur communauté.

La trousse offre beaucoup de suggestions pratiques et concrètes pour élaborer des mesures et des interventions à court et à long terme face à la violence familiale qui s’infiltre dans le milieu de travail.

Vous pouvez vous servir des documents de la trousse (fiches d’information, affiches et messages) ou utiliser l’information directement à partir de notre site Web, à l’adresse www.troussenb.ca.

^ Haut de la Page