Currently Visiting:  Home »» About The Foundation> »» MURIEL ON CANVAS

MURIEL ON CANVAS

Artist

Mentor and Advocate
Mentor and Advocate
Illuminator
Illuminator

Muriel Bell was born in Kenora, Ontario . Graduating from the Ontario College of Art in Toronto in 1964, she was then employed in New Brunswick as staff designer in government and private business until 1978, working in residential and corporate interior design and decoration, and detailing early New Brunswick furnishings for historical records.

In 1978 Muriel began painting in a non-commercial venue, then engaged in numerous solo and group exhibitions. She uses a wide range of mixed media techniques as well as traditional methods. The death of her eighteen year old son, to cancer, in 1993, has deeply influenced the nature of her work. Currently represented by Gallery 78 in Fredericton, Muriel Bell's work is included in the permanent collections of the University of New Brunswick, CFB Gagetown, the New Brunswick Art bank, Beaverbrook Art Gallery, St. Thomas University Third Age Centre, and the Province of New Brunswick.

“Creativity is the flow of life” Bell says. In listening deeply to one's intuitive nature, one finds strength of expression, of spirit. She calls her work, both abstract and representational, her spiritual vocabulary.

Artwork

Muriel Bell's paintings: Inspired by Muriel McQueen Fergusson

The Muriel McQueen Fergusson artworks were completed as part of her solo exhibition about older adults: A Time of Our Lives. Opening at UNB Art Centre in Fredericton, it traveled to Ward-Chipman Library and Gallery at UNBSJ, then The Andrew and Laura McCain Gallery in Florenceville.

The portrait of Senator Fergusson was created from the only photograph Bell had taken on the day of the interview with Fergusson. Providentially, it was a photograph of an eloquent subject. In her concentration on other aspects of the interview, Bell had forgotten to check her camera and found herself with one frame left and no flash.

Muriel Bell found Muriel McQueen Fergusson to have a cogent presence. She was gracious, sharp minded, tenacious, direct, small in stature, modest, and resolute. During the meeting, Senator Fergusson generously gave her time and attention to answering questions about her life and her accomplished career. Their conversation left Muriel Bell compelled to know more about the extent of her achievements: determined that a portrait of this great lady should be accompanied by an additional tribute to her life's work.

Bell was granted permission, by Senator Muriel McQueen Fergusson, to open biographical files which were to be sealed until her death, at the New Brunswick Provincial Archives. Bell was overwhelmed with the extent of Senator Fergusson's influence, involvement and commitment as she became immersed in the files. In response to what she saw and felt, Bell used uncluttered sensitive line to convey truth and strength. She created the portrait; “Mentor and Advocate” and the inspirational piece; “Illuminator: Justice and Women's Initiative” which the Foundation affectionately calls “Muriel's Mission”.

Order Form
[Illuminator]

Order Form [Mentor and Advocate]

^ Back to Top

Vous Visitez:  Accueil »» À PROPOS DE LA FONDATION »» Muriel en tableaux

Muriel en tableaux

Artiste

Mentor and Advocate
Mentor and Advocate
Illuminator
Illuminator

Muriel Bell est née à Kenora, en Ontario. Diplômée de l’Ontario College of Art à Toronto en 1964, elle travaille pour le gouvernement du Nouveau-Brunswick et dans le secteur privé jusqu’en 1978 dans le domaine de la décoration intérieure résidentielle et commerciale, puis comme dessinatrice de meubles anciens du Nouveau-Brunswick pour les dossiers documentaires.

En 1978, Muriel commence à peindre et participe à plusieurs expositions solo et collectives. Elle utilise un large éventail de techniques mixtes aussi bien que des méthodes traditionnelles. Le décès de son fil de 18 ans des suites d’un cancer en 1993 influence profondément la nature de son travail. Elle est actuellement représentée par Gallery 78 à Fredericton, et certaines de ses oeuvres font partie des collections permanentes de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la base des Forces canadiennes de Gagetown, de la banque d’œuvres d’art du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Galerie d’art Beaverbrook, du Third Age Centre de l’Université St. Thomas et de la province du Nouveau-Brunswick.

« La créativité est le pouls de la vie », dit Muriel Bell. Selon elle, c’est en étant véritablement à l’écoute de son intuition que l’on peut puiser la force de l’expression, de l’esprit. Son travail, abstrait et figuratif, est ce qu’elle appelle son vocabulaire spirituel.

Œuvres d’art

Toiles de Muriel Bell : Inspirées par Muriel McQueen Fergusson

Les œuvres de la série Muriel McQueen Fergusson ont été achevées dans le cadre de son exposition solo sur les aînés qui avait pour thème A Time of Our Lives. Inaugurée au centre des arts de l’Université du Nouveau-Brunswick à Fredericton, l’exposition a ensuite été accueillie à la bibliothèque Ward-Chipman et à la galerie de l’UNBSJ, puis à la galerie Andrew et Laura McCain à Florenceville.

Le portrait de Mme Fergusson a été créé à partir d’une seule et unique photographie prise par l’artiste lors de son entrevue avec la sénatrice. Heureusement, c’était une photo éloquente. Muriel Bell était tellement concentrée sur l’entrevue qu’elle avait oublié de vérifier son appareil photo, et il ne lui restait de la pellicule que pour une seule photo, en plus de ne pas avoir de flash.

Muriel McQueen Fergusson avait une forte présence malgré sa petite stature, aux dires de la peintre, et elle dégageait à la fois la grâce, l’intelligence, la modestie et la détermination. Durant la rencontre, la sénatrice a répondu avec soin aux questions sur sa vie et sa carrière. À la suite de cette conversation, Muriel Bell a voulu en savoir plus sur les réalisations de cette femme et décidé que son portrait devait s’accompagner d’un hommage à l’œuvre de sa vie.

L’artiste a obtenu auprès de la sénatrice la permission de consulter des dossiers des Archives du Nouveau-Brunswick qui devaient être gardés sous scellés jusqu’à sa mort. À la lecture de ces documents, Muriel Bell fut complètement renversée par la portée de l’influence et de l’engagement de la sénatrice Fergusson. Elle a choisi des traits sensibles et dégagés pour exprimer la force et l’authenticité de son sujet. Elle a créé le portrait Mentor and Advocate et l’œuvre inspirante Illuminator: Justice and Women’s Initiative, que la Fondation a affectueusement surnommée la Mission de Muriel.

Formulaire de commande [Illuminator]

Formulaire de commande [Mentor and Advocate]

^ Haut de la Page